We are

Personal Injury Services

Blog

What Happens After a Hit-and-Run Accident?

Published on March 27th, 2020

If you’re involved in an accident and fear you may be at fault, you could find yourself fighting the impulse to flee the scene. In a moment of panic, many people take this unfortunate path and open themselves up to steep criminal and civil consequences. Our car accident lawyers near Belvidere can help give you the fair representation granted to you as a constitutional right. Today we’ll be answering common questions related to this law.

Hit & Run Accident Lawyers Near Rockford

What is Considered a Hit-and-Run in Illinois?

Hit-and-Run laws vary by state. In Illinois, any failure to stop and render aid following an accident is punishable by law. You are expected to pull to the side and call the authorities in the event of an accident. If you choose to flee the scene, you may be later charged with a crime. If you need to get some distance from the site of the accident in order to call for help (ex., moving for better cell service), you will not be charged.

What are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

You could be charged with a misdemeanor or felony following a hit-and-run accident. As in other types of cases, the penalties for a hit-and-run vary depending on the specifics of the crash. The State will assess the damage caused by that accident and pursue charges accordingly.

Misdemeanor Hit-and-Run

  • Property Damage. If you flee from an accident that results in only property damage, you may be charged with a class A misdemeanor. Charges of this nature carry up to a $5,000 fine and potentially up to a year of jail time.

Felony Hit-and-Run

  • Personal Injuries. Leaving the scene of an accident that resulted in personal injuries may be charged as a Class 4 Felony. The driver who fled may be on the hook to pay a fine of up to $25,000 and may even be sentenced to up to three years in jail.
  • Death. If one or more people perish as a result of the accident you fled, the consequences may be quite severe. You could be charged with a class 3 felony and punished with a sentence that includes five years in prison and up to a $25,000 fine.

Call Our Car Accident Lawyers Near Belvidere

Our attorneys are thorough, compassionate, and ready to defend your case in criminal court. If you have been charged with (or believe you may soon be charged with) a hit-and-run crime, call our car accident lawyers near Belvidere for a free case evaluation.

Back to Blog

Call us now to get the legal advice you need.815-394-1776

Client Testimonials

My Mom and I worked with Tyler and Brittany on a case where my Mom was injured in a car accident. American Law Firm was able to get my Moms medical claims paid by the other parties insurance, along with compensation for her regarding the injuries that she sustained in the accident.

Amy R.

8/2/2020

Client Testimonials

There were many firms I could have gone to for help but I couldn’t of made a better decision with The American Law Firm and the help of Mark, Brittany and Tyler. Thank you all again!

TGT

9/2/2020

Client Testimonials

Very nice people! Brittany was amazing! She was able to get my mother's lien for her hospital bills negotiated down to a very reasonable price. She was with us every step of the way. My mother got her settlement from her car accident within 3 weeks of hiring them. Highly recommended!

Drecko B.

8/10/2020

Contact us Today! Call us at 815-394-1776 or submit